Independent information. England-wide.Public data. Clear sources.

EDUCATION, HEALTH AND CARE CONNECTIONS

EHC plans and SEND support in Norfolk

Explore local authority plan totals, requests and observed timeliness, then follow the council’s Local Offer and assessment routes.

Find the local support route

Norfolk County Council: council website. Find its SEND Local Offer, children’s services and assessment information.

Published local authority evidence

January 2026 Local authority SEN2 return

Active EHC plans at January

13,777 plans

13,777 plans was reported for “Active EHC plans at January”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Active EHC plans at January

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

January 2023January 2026 · vertical scale 013,777. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
January 20238,735 plans
January 202410,736 plans
January 202512,147 plans
January 202613,777 plans

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests for an EHC needs assessment

2,382 requests

2,382 requests was reported for “Requests for an EHC needs assessment”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests for an EHC needs assessment

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 02,562. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year2,444 requests
2024 calendar year2,562 requests
2025 calendar year2,382 requests

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Plans issued within 20 weeks, including exceptions

59%

59% was reported for “Plans issued within 20 weeks, including exceptions”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Plans issued within 20 weeks, including exceptions

The calculation uses a denominator of 1,943; see the source for the eligible group.

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Some 2025 timeliness figures are withheld by the publisher. Its footnote reports Norfolk exception-classification and Halton post-publication issues. Available including-exception figures remain separate from withheld excluding-exception figures.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0100%. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year42.2%
2024 calendar year55.7%
2025 calendar year59%

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Plans issued within 20 weeks, excluding exceptions

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Plans issued within 20 weeks, excluding exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Some 2025 timeliness figures are withheld by the publisher. Its footnote reports Norfolk exception-classification and Halton post-publication issues. Available including-exception figures remain separate from withheld excluding-exception figures.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0100%. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year42.6%
2024 calendar year56.3%
2025 calendar yearNot reported
Explore 9 additional measures

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

New EHC plans started in the year

2,092 plans

2,092 plans was reported for “New EHC plans started in the year”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: New EHC plans started in the year

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 02,330. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year2,330 plans
2024 calendar year2,031 plans
2025 calendar year2,092 plans

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests with a decision to assess

1,972 requests

1,972 requests was reported for “Requests with a decision to assess”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests with a decision to assess

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 02,176. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year1,790 requests
2024 calendar year2,176 requests
2025 calendar year1,972 requests

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests with a decision not to assess

347 requests

347 requests was reported for “Requests with a decision not to assess”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests with a decision not to assess

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0430. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year430 requests
2024 calendar year333 requests
2025 calendar year347 requests

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests with no decision yet recorded

63 requests

63 requests was reported for “Requests with no decision yet recorded”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests with no decision yet recorded

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0224. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year224 requests
2024 calendar year53 requests
2025 calendar year63 requests

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests withdrawn

0 requests

0 requests was reported for “Requests withdrawn”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests withdrawn

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 01. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year0 requests
2024 calendar year0 requests
2025 calendar year0 requests

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, including exceptions

1,943 plans

1,943 plans was reported for “Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, including exceptions”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, including exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Some 2025 timeliness figures are withheld by the publisher. Its footnote reports Norfolk exception-classification and Halton post-publication issues. Available including-exception figures remain separate from withheld excluding-exception figures.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 02,166. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year2,166 plans
2024 calendar year1,909 plans
2025 calendar year1,943 plans

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, excluding exceptions

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, excluding exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Some 2025 timeliness figures are withheld by the publisher. Its footnote reports Norfolk exception-classification and Halton post-publication issues. Available including-exception figures remain separate from withheld excluding-exception figures.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 01,991. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year1,991 plans
2024 calendar year1,743 plans
2025 calendar yearNot reported

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Average observed time to issue a plan, including exceptions

26.4 weeks

26.4 weeks was reported for “Average observed time to issue a plan, including exceptions”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Average observed time to issue a plan, including exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Some 2025 timeliness figures are withheld by the publisher. Its footnote reports Norfolk exception-classification and Halton post-publication issues. Available including-exception figures remain separate from withheld excluding-exception figures.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 033.3. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year33.3 weeks
2024 calendar year27.4 weeks
2025 calendar year26.4 weeks

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Average observed time to issue a plan, excluding exceptions

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Average observed time to issue a plan, excluding exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Some 2025 timeliness figures are withheld by the publisher. Its footnote reports Norfolk exception-classification and Halton post-publication issues. Available including-exception figures remain separate from withheld excluding-exception figures.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 030.3. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year30.3 weeks
2024 calendar year24.9 weeks
2025 calendar yearNot reported

Source and interpretation

Department for Education: Education, health and care plans, reporting year 2026. Published 25 June and updated 30 June 2026. Reused under the Open Government Licence.

The collection changed in 2023, so earlier observations are excluded from these trends. Values marked unavailable, not applicable or suppressed remain separate from zero. Read the source footnotes for council-specific quality issues.

Official SEND support guidance · Find local council support