Independent information. England-wide.Public data. Clear sources.

EDUCATION, HEALTH AND CARE CONNECTIONS

EHC plans and SEND support in Leicester

Explore local authority plan totals, requests and observed timeliness, then follow the council’s Local Offer and assessment routes.

Find the local support route

Leicester City Council: council website. Find its SEND Local Offer, children’s services and assessment information.

Published local authority evidence

January 2026 Local authority SEN2 return

Active EHC plans at January

4,175 plans

4,175 plans was reported for “Active EHC plans at January”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Active EHC plans at January

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

January 2023January 2026 · vertical scale 04,175. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
January 20233,387 plans
January 20243,824 plans
January 20254,057 plans
January 20264,175 plans

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests for an EHC needs assessment

199 requests

199 requests was reported for “Requests for an EHC needs assessment”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests for an EHC needs assessment

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Leicester could not supply request or assessment dates in the 2026 collection; no-data results stay unavailable.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0883. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar yearNot reported
2024 calendar year883 requests
2025 calendar year199 requests

2024 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Plans issued within 20 weeks, including exceptions

51.8%

51.8% was reported for “Plans issued within 20 weeks, including exceptions”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Plans issued within 20 weeks, including exceptions

The calculation uses a denominator of 575; see the source for the eligible group.

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Leicester could not supply request or assessment dates in the 2026 collection; no-data results stay unavailable.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

2024 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Plans issued within 20 weeks, excluding exceptions

51.5%

51.5% was reported for “Plans issued within 20 weeks, excluding exceptions”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Plans issued within 20 weeks, excluding exceptions

The calculation uses a denominator of 571; see the source for the eligible group.

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Leicester could not supply request or assessment dates in the 2026 collection; no-data results stay unavailable.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

Explore 9 additional measures

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

New EHC plans started in the year

38 plans

38 plans was reported for “New EHC plans started in the year”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: New EHC plans started in the year

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2024 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0579. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2024 calendar year579 plans
2025 calendar year38 plans

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests with a decision to assess

126 requests

126 requests was reported for “Requests with a decision to assess”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests with a decision to assess

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Leicester could not supply request or assessment dates in the 2026 collection; no-data results stay unavailable.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0476. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar yearNot reported
2024 calendar year476 requests
2025 calendar year126 requests

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests with a decision not to assess

0 requests

0 requests was reported for “Requests with a decision not to assess”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests with a decision not to assess

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Leicester could not supply request or assessment dates in the 2026 collection; no-data results stay unavailable.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 01. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar yearNot reported
2024 calendar year1 requests
2025 calendar year0 requests

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests with no decision yet recorded

33 requests

33 requests was reported for “Requests with no decision yet recorded”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests with no decision yet recorded

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Leicester could not supply request or assessment dates in the 2026 collection; no-data results stay unavailable.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0108. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar yearNot reported
2024 calendar year108 requests
2025 calendar year33 requests

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests withdrawn

40 requests

40 requests was reported for “Requests withdrawn”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests withdrawn

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Leicester could not supply request or assessment dates in the 2026 collection; no-data results stay unavailable.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0298. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar yearNot reported
2024 calendar year298 requests
2025 calendar year40 requests

2024 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, including exceptions

575 plans

575 plans was reported for “Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, including exceptions”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, including exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Leicester could not supply request or assessment dates in the 2026 collection; no-data results stay unavailable.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

2024 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, excluding exceptions

571 plans

571 plans was reported for “Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, excluding exceptions”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, excluding exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Leicester could not supply request or assessment dates in the 2026 collection; no-data results stay unavailable.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

2024 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Average observed time to issue a plan, including exceptions

29.3 weeks

29.3 weeks was reported for “Average observed time to issue a plan, including exceptions”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Average observed time to issue a plan, including exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Leicester could not supply request or assessment dates in the 2026 collection; no-data results stay unavailable.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

2024 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Average observed time to issue a plan, excluding exceptions

29.1 weeks

29.1 weeks was reported for “Average observed time to issue a plan, excluding exceptions”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Average observed time to issue a plan, excluding exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Leicester could not supply request or assessment dates in the 2026 collection; no-data results stay unavailable.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

Source and interpretation

Department for Education: Education, health and care plans, reporting year 2026. Published 25 June and updated 30 June 2026. Reused under the Open Government Licence.

The collection changed in 2023, so earlier observations are excluded from these trends. Values marked unavailable, not applicable or suppressed remain separate from zero. Read the source footnotes for council-specific quality issues.

Official SEND support guidance · Find local council support