Independent information. England-wide.Public data. Clear sources.

EDUCATION, HEALTH AND CARE CONNECTIONS

EHC plans and SEND support in Isle of Wight

Explore local authority plan totals, requests and observed timeliness, then follow the council’s Local Offer and assessment routes.

Find the local support route

Isle of Wight Council: council website. Find its SEND Local Offer, children’s services and assessment information.

Published local authority evidence

January 2026 Local authority SEN2 return

Active EHC plans at January

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Active EHC plans at January

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Publisher suppressed latest Isle of Wight figures because of data-quality issues.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

January 2023January 2026 · vertical scale 01,799. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
January 20231,493 plans
January 20241,662 plans
January 20251,799 plans
January 2026Not reported

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests for an EHC needs assessment

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests for an EHC needs assessment

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Publisher suppressed latest Isle of Wight figures because of data-quality issues.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 074. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar yearNot reported
2024 calendar year74 requests
2025 calendar yearNot reported

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Plans issued within 20 weeks, including exceptions

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Plans issued within 20 weeks, including exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Publisher suppressed latest Isle of Wight figures because of data-quality issues.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2024 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0100%. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2024 calendar year28.6%
2025 calendar yearNot reported

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Plans issued within 20 weeks, excluding exceptions

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Plans issued within 20 weeks, excluding exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Publisher suppressed latest Isle of Wight figures because of data-quality issues.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2024 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0100%. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2024 calendar year28.6%
2025 calendar yearNot reported
Explore 9 additional measures

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

New EHC plans started in the year

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: New EHC plans started in the year

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Publisher suppressed latest Isle of Wight figures because of data-quality issues.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2024 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0187. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2024 calendar year187 plans
2025 calendar yearNot reported

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests with a decision to assess

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests with a decision to assess

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Publisher suppressed latest Isle of Wight figures because of data-quality issues.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 053. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar yearNot reported
2024 calendar year53 requests
2025 calendar yearNot reported

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests with a decision not to assess

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests with a decision not to assess

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Publisher suppressed latest Isle of Wight figures because of data-quality issues.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 07. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar yearNot reported
2024 calendar year7 requests
2025 calendar yearNot reported

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests with no decision yet recorded

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests with no decision yet recorded

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Publisher suppressed latest Isle of Wight figures because of data-quality issues.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 014. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar yearNot reported
2024 calendar year14 requests
2025 calendar yearNot reported

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests withdrawn

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests withdrawn

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Publisher suppressed latest Isle of Wight figures because of data-quality issues.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 01. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar yearNot reported
2024 calendar year0 requests
2025 calendar yearNot reported

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, including exceptions

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, including exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Publisher suppressed latest Isle of Wight figures because of data-quality issues.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2024 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 07. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2024 calendar year7 plans
2025 calendar yearNot reported

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, excluding exceptions

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, excluding exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Publisher suppressed latest Isle of Wight figures because of data-quality issues.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2024 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 07. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2024 calendar year7 plans
2025 calendar yearNot reported

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Average observed time to issue a plan, including exceptions

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Average observed time to issue a plan, including exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Publisher suppressed latest Isle of Wight figures because of data-quality issues.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2024 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 022.6. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2024 calendar year22.6 weeks
2025 calendar yearNot reported

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Average observed time to issue a plan, excluding exceptions

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Average observed time to issue a plan, excluding exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Publisher suppressed latest Isle of Wight figures because of data-quality issues.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2024 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 022.6. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2024 calendar year22.6 weeks
2025 calendar yearNot reported

Source and interpretation

Department for Education: Education, health and care plans, reporting year 2026. Published 25 June and updated 30 June 2026. Reused under the Open Government Licence.

The collection changed in 2023, so earlier observations are excluded from these trends. Values marked unavailable, not applicable or suppressed remain separate from zero. Read the source footnotes for council-specific quality issues.

Official SEND support guidance · Find local council support