Independent information. England-wide.Public data. Clear sources.

EDUCATION, HEALTH AND CARE CONNECTIONS

EHC plans and SEND support in Halton

Explore local authority plan totals, requests and observed timeliness, then follow the council’s Local Offer and assessment routes.

Find the local support route

Halton Borough Council: council website. Find its SEND Local Offer, children’s services and assessment information.

Published local authority evidence

January 2026 Local authority SEN2 return

Active EHC plans at January

1,825 plans

1,825 plans was reported for “Active EHC plans at January”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Active EHC plans at January

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

January 2023January 2026 · vertical scale 01,825. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
January 20231,319 plans
January 20241,524 plans
January 20251,712 plans
January 20261,825 plans

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests for an EHC needs assessment

526 requests

526 requests was reported for “Requests for an EHC needs assessment”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests for an EHC needs assessment

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0526. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year409 requests
2024 calendar year492 requests
2025 calendar year526 requests

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Plans issued within 20 weeks, including exceptions

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Plans issued within 20 weeks, including exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Some 2025 timeliness figures are withheld by the publisher. Its footnote reports Norfolk exception-classification and Halton post-publication issues. Available including-exception figures remain separate from withheld excluding-exception figures.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0100%. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year29%
2024 calendar year58.2%
2025 calendar yearNot reported

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Plans issued within 20 weeks, excluding exceptions

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Plans issued within 20 weeks, excluding exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Some 2025 timeliness figures are withheld by the publisher. Its footnote reports Norfolk exception-classification and Halton post-publication issues. Available including-exception figures remain separate from withheld excluding-exception figures.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0100%. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year26.3%
2024 calendar year56.5%
2025 calendar yearNot reported
Explore 9 additional measures

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

New EHC plans started in the year

250 plans

250 plans was reported for “New EHC plans started in the year”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: New EHC plans started in the year

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0270. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year270 plans
2024 calendar year240 plans
2025 calendar year250 plans

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests with a decision to assess

283 requests

283 requests was reported for “Requests with a decision to assess”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests with a decision to assess

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0283. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year203 requests
2024 calendar year274 requests
2025 calendar year283 requests

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests with a decision not to assess

190 requests

190 requests was reported for “Requests with a decision not to assess”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests with a decision not to assess

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0200. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year164 requests
2024 calendar year200 requests
2025 calendar year190 requests

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests with no decision yet recorded

53 requests

53 requests was reported for “Requests with no decision yet recorded”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests with no decision yet recorded

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 053. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year42 requests
2024 calendar year16 requests
2025 calendar year53 requests

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Requests withdrawn

0 requests

0 requests was reported for “Requests withdrawn”. DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate.

Definition and source

Published measure: Requests withdrawn

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 02. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year0 requests
2024 calendar year2 requests
2025 calendar year0 requests

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, including exceptions

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, including exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Some 2025 timeliness figures are withheld by the publisher. Its footnote reports Norfolk exception-classification and Halton post-publication issues. Available including-exception figures remain separate from withheld excluding-exception figures.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0231. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year231 plans
2024 calendar year208 plans
2025 calendar yearNot reported

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, excluding exceptions

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Plans issued in the timeliness cohort, excluding exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Some 2025 timeliness figures are withheld by the publisher. Its footnote reports Norfolk exception-classification and Halton post-publication issues. Available including-exception figures remain separate from withheld excluding-exception figures.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 0205. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year205 plans
2024 calendar year154 plans
2025 calendar yearNot reported

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Average observed time to issue a plan, including exceptions

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Average observed time to issue a plan, including exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Some 2025 timeliness figures are withheld by the publisher. Its footnote reports Norfolk exception-classification and Halton post-publication issues. Available including-exception figures remain separate from withheld excluding-exception figures.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 028. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year28 weeks
2024 calendar year21.3 weeks
2025 calendar yearNot reported

2025 calendar year Local authority SEN2 return

Average observed time to issue a plan, excluding exceptions

Exact value withheld

The publisher has withheld this value. It must not be treated as zero.

Definition and source

Published measure: Average observed time to issue a plan, excluding exceptions

DfE SEN2 all-plan/request aggregate. The 2026 release describes January 2026 plans or calendar-year 2025 activity. Published local authority figures are not NHS diagnostic waits or forecasts for an individual. The data collection changed in 2023; earlier observations are excluded. Including and excluding permitted exceptions are separate cohorts. Timeliness cohorts can differ from new-plan counts because dates and coverage differ. Some 2025 timeliness figures are withheld by the publisher. Its footnote reports Norfolk exception-classification and Halton post-publication issues. Available including-exception figures remain separate from withheld excluding-exception figures.

Education, health and care plans · Coverage and method

See how this has changed

2023 calendar year2025 calendar year · vertical scale 025.7. Gaps remain gaps.

Read the values by period
PeriodPublished value
2023 calendar year25.7 weeks
2024 calendar year15.9 weeks
2025 calendar yearNot reported

Source and interpretation

Department for Education: Education, health and care plans, reporting year 2026. Published 25 June and updated 30 June 2026. Reused under the Open Government Licence.

The collection changed in 2023, so earlier observations are excluded from these trends. Values marked unavailable, not applicable or suppressed remain separate from zero. Read the source footnotes for council-specific quality issues.

Official SEND support guidance · Find local council support