Turn an hourly or visit-based quote into a realistic weekly budget.
What should you budget for?
Helping Hands lists a starting fee of £32.40 for visiting care.
This is one provider’s published example, so it is not a local market average. Price unit: per hour per carer. The full bill depends on the package and your care plan.
Sample checked 10 September 2026. 2 fee records from 2 providers on this page. See the fee and its source.
A price per hour may differ from the charge for a short visit. Check minimum visit lengths, travel, weekends, bank holidays and whether two carers are required. Multiply the agreed schedule, not a generic number of care hours.
FUNDING ROUTE
Check funding before paying
Ask your local council for a care-needs assessment and a financial assessment. Social-care charges and NHS continuing healthcare follow different rules; the care you need and your circumstances determine the available support. Do not assume that every care cost is NHS-funded or that a headline savings threshold determines the whole assessment.
A price per hour may differ from the charge for a short visit. Check minimum visit lengths, travel, weekends, bank holidays and whether two carers are required. Multiply the agreed schedule, not a generic number of care hours.
Visit length and frequency
One or two carers
Travel, weekends and minimum charges
Published private price examples
These are specific advertised examples, not an England-wide average or a ranking of the cheapest or best providers. A starting price, treatment-only guide and full package can cover different things. Confirm availability and the written total directly.
2 fee examples shown from 2 providers. Select up to three to compare the details. Alphabetical order; no paid ranking.
Treatment or assessment fee
GoodOaks Homecare
Published group/online service price; confirm coverage
Visiting care: half-hour visit
From £19
per 30-minute visit
Published group starting price. Confirm local coverage, travel charges and the time needed for your care.
Checked 10 Sept 2026 · Provider fee date: Not stated on page
Treatment or assessment fee
Helping Hands
Published group/online service price; confirm coverage
Visiting care
From £32.40
per hour per carer
Add the published £4.50 travel charge per carer per visit. Duration, location and care needs affect the quote; an hour is not the same as two separately charged visits.
Separate items: £4.50 per-carer per-visit travel charge; Any setup and enhanced-time charges.
Start with a published example or your own quote. Add only charges that are not already included. Blank items remain unpriced; they are not assumed to be free.
Known subtotal
Enter a valid base price
An estimate using only the amounts entered. This is not a provider quote or a confirmed final bill.
Still check in the written plan
Visit length and frequency
One or two carers
Travel, weekends and minimum charges
Confirm whether each blank item is included, payable separately or not needed. Agree any possible extra-treatment charges and cancellation terms.
Entries stay in this page. They are not saved to your account or sent to providers.
Ask each provider the same questions and keep the written plan, its issue date and its expiry date.
1
Before booking
Request a written assessment, schedule and contract before committing. Include who arranges cover, who to contact with concerns and when fees can change. Use the agreed hours or weeks in the cost planner.
2
Before agreeing to pay
Ask for the exact service, clinician, location, dates and inclusions in writing. Check deposits, payment deadlines and what happens if the treatment plan changes. Keep clinical suitability separate from how the care will be funded.
3
After the appointment or treatment
Confirm who explains results, manages follow-up and provides a contact if you have concerns. Include repeat visits, medicines, travel and support at home in your plan where relevant. Ask who is responsible for arranging any next step.
Choose how to pay with the full picture
NHS or public funding
Eligibility, clinical assessment and local arrangements determine the route. Dental charges and social-care funding follow their own rules. Confirm funding before agreeing to private treatment.
For self-pay, request an itemised total, deposit and cancellation terms. For insurance, confirm authorisation, clinician and hospital recognition, excess and any benefit limits before booking. Recognition alone does not confirm your policy covers the treatment.
If finance is offered, compare the total repayable, interest, fees and repayment period against paying directly. A monthly figure is not the treatment’s total cost. Keep NHS and private follow-up arrangements clear with the clinicians involved.
Check the provider and the next step
A fee does not establish clinical suitability, appointment availability or treatment quality. Review the service’s published evidence and practical arrangements as well.
Waiting-list statistics describe published records for a service or organisation. They do not predict your appointment date or the wait for the particular operation in this guide.
Questions about home care visits costs
Does the advertised fee cover the whole plan?
Check the exact package with the provider. Visit length and frequency, One or two carers, Travel, weekends and minimum charges can affect the comparison. The price examples above retain the source’s unit and price basis; an unlisted inclusion has not been assumed to be free.
Can I use the NHS instead?
Ask your local council for a care-needs assessment and a financial assessment. Social-care charges and NHS continuing healthcare follow different rules; the care you need and your circumstances determine the available support. Do not assume that every care cost is NHS-funded or that a headline savings threshold determines the whole assessment. Check the official route.
Is the lowest price the best option?
Price alone cannot answer that. Discuss appropriate options with a qualified professional, then compare the same scope of care, relevant provider evidence, access arrangements and the full aftercare plan.
What if there is no published fee near me?
Ask a provider for a written quote using this guide’s checklist. Other towns’ prices and group-wide offers are examples, not local quotations. A local page can contain one verified provider’s fee: its coverage is stated clearly. Where available, we link to separately labelled prices in nearby places.
Checked 10 September 2026. We select public factual fee examples from providers’ own pages. There is no paid placement and we do not calculate market averages from this selection. A provider-group fee is labelled as such; it is not copied into every local area.
Price amounts are withheld when their source has not been checked within 90 days. The original source date stays visible and is not refreshed just because the website is rebuilt. A checked fee can still change: request a current written quote.
Helping Hands: published fee sourceChecked 10 September 2026. Published provider fees checked against the named page. Confirm eligibility, the full package and separately billed items before booking.
GoodOaks Homecare: published fee sourceChecked 10 September 2026 · Fee list dated Not stated on page. Provider’s linked price schedule. Package exclusions and the fee unit are retained; a personal quote is needed.
Named providers: Helping Hands; GoodOaks Homecare.