Independent information. England-wide.Public data. Clear sources.

MAKE AN INFORMED CHOICE

Dental fillings costs: NHS and private care

Compare the filling material, tooth and number of surfaces.

What should you budget for?

Published amalgam filling fees average about £110 across 2 providers in our sample. This includes advertised guide or starting prices.

The included fees range from £80 to £140. Price unit: one filling. The full bill depends on the package and your care plan.

Sample checked 10 September 2026. 11 fee records from 5 providers on this page. See exactly what the average includes.

How we calculate the published-price averages

We group matching procedure descriptions and units, exclude additional charges and price intervals, then calculate the arithmetic mean with equal weight for each provider. If a provider has several matching fees, its distinct fees are averaged first. Rounded to the nearest pound; original published amounts stay on the fee cards.

These are sampled advertised fees, including any starting or guide prices as labelled. They are not representative England-wide averages, personal quotes or a measure of care quality. Inclusions can still differ: check the fee cards before choosing.

Separate samples by procedure and price scope
Procedure sampleAveragePublished rangeProviders
Amalgam filling
one filling
Included fees
£110£80£1402

For eligible NHS dental care in England, this treatment can fall within Band 2: £76.60 per course of treatment. A more extensive plan can fall into a higher band. Private fees depend on the provider and exact treatment.

FUNDING ROUTE

Understand the NHS route

This treatment can fall within NHS Band 2 when clinically appropriate and provided as NHS dental care. You pay for the course of treatment, with the highest applicable band, rather than adding a separate band charge for each item. A more extensive complete plan may fall into a higher band. Exemptions and help with charges depend on eligibility.

Band 2: £76.60, effective 1 April 2026. Confirm the current charge and exemptions with NHS Business Services Authority.

Official eligibility and care information

COMPARE LIKE FOR LIKE

What changes the price?

Small and large fillings, front and back teeth, and amalgam and composite materials are different quotes. Check whether the examination and X-rays are separate. The NHS course charge is not a fee for every filling.

  • Treatment scope and materials
  • Assessment and X-rays
  • Follow-up, maintenance and additional work

Published private price examples

These are specific advertised examples, not an England-wide average or a ranking of the cheapest or best providers. A starting price, treatment-only guide and full package can cover different things. Confirm availability and the written total directly.

11 fee examples shown from 5 providers. Select up to three to compare the details. Alphabetical order; no paid ranking.

Treatment or assessment fee

Harborne Dental Practice

Harborne, Birmingham

Single-surface amalgam filling

From £96

per treatment; confirm full scope

Non-member fee. The published list is dated December 2025 and remains displayed on the practice website; confirm a current quote.

Provider’s published fee page

Checked 10 Sept 2026 · Provider fee date: December 2025

Treatment or assessment fee

Harborne Dental Practice

Harborne, Birmingham

Single-surface front-tooth composite filling

From £150

per treatment; confirm full scope

Non-member fee for an anterior white filling. Back-tooth composite fillings have a separate price; this is not a price for every white filling.

Provider’s published fee page

Checked 10 Sept 2026 · Provider fee date: December 2025

Treatment or assessment fee

HQ Dental

Leeds, LS12 4QG

Amalgam filling

From £140

one filling

Practice’s named treatment fee. Confirm suitability, preparatory work and any separately charged services.

Contact, travel and provider evidenceProvider’s published fee page

Checked 10 Sept 2026

Treatment or assessment fee

HQ Dental

Leeds, LS12 4QG

Composite filling

From £150

one filling

Practice’s named treatment fee. Confirm suitability, preparatory work and any separately charged services.

Contact, travel and provider evidenceProvider’s published fee page

Checked 10 Sept 2026

Treatment or assessment fee

Manchester Dental

Manchester, M41 5BG

One-surface white filling

From £85

one surface

Practice’s public fee. Check assessment, imaging, exact treatment and aftercare inclusions.

Contact, travel and provider evidenceProvider’s published fee page

Checked 10 Sept 2026

Treatment or assessment fee

Manchester Dental

Manchester, M41 5BG

Three-surface white filling

From £200

three surfaces

Practice’s public fee. Check assessment, imaging, exact treatment and aftercare inclusions.

Contact, travel and provider evidenceProvider’s published fee page

Checked 10 Sept 2026

Treatment or assessment fee

Manchester Dental

Manchester, M41 5BG

Two-surface white filling

From £150

two surfaces

Practice’s public fee. Check assessment, imaging, exact treatment and aftercare inclusions.

Contact, travel and provider evidenceProvider’s published fee page

Checked 10 Sept 2026

Treatment or assessment fee

The Clinic, College of Dentistry

Colmore Circus, Birmingham B4 6BN

Large filling

£200

per treatment; confirm full scope

A separate size category from the same clinic. Confirm material, assessment and any imaging charges before agreeing to treatment.

Provider’s published fee page

Checked 10 Sept 2026

Treatment or assessment fee

The Clinic, College of Dentistry

Colmore Circus, Birmingham B4 6BN

Small filling

£100

per treatment; confirm full scope

The fee list separately lists consultation at £120 and X-rays at £15 per film. Ask which charges apply to your visit; filling material is not specified on this list.

Provider’s published fee page

Checked 10 Sept 2026

Treatment or assessment fee

The Dental Team

Manchester, M32 0QJ

Amalgam filling

From £80

one filling

Published practice fee; request the exact scope and any extra assessment or aftercare charges.

Contact, travel and provider evidenceProvider’s published fee page

Checked 10 Sept 2026

Treatment or assessment fee

The Dental Team

Manchester, M32 0QJ

White composite filling

From £120

one filling

Published practice fee; request the exact scope and any extra assessment or aftercare charges.

Contact, travel and provider evidenceProvider’s published fee page

Checked 10 Sept 2026

BUDGET FOR THE WHOLE PLAN

Build your cost estimate

Start with a published example or your own quote. Add only charges that are not already included. Blank items remain unpriced; they are not assumed to be free.

Additional charges for the whole plan (£)

Known subtotal

Enter a valid base price

An estimate using only the amounts entered. This is not a provider quote or a confirmed final bill.

Still check in the written plan
  • Treatment scope and materials
  • Assessment and X-rays
  • Follow-up, maintenance and additional work

Confirm whether each blank item is included, payable separately or not needed. Agree any possible extra-treatment charges and cancellation terms.

Entries stay in this page. They are not saved to your account or sent to providers.

Local dental fillings price guides

Your dental fillings quote checklist

Ask each provider the same questions and keep the written plan, its issue date and its expiry date.

Dental fillings quote checklist
0 of 6 checked

Tick off questions as you prepare. Your ticks stay on this page and are cleared when you leave or reload.

1

Before booking

Before booking, ask who will assess suitability, which existing records are useful and what the appointment or admission involves. Agree the follow-up and contact arrangements, including travel or support at home. Follow the treating team’s individual preparation instructions.

2

Before agreeing to pay

Ask for the exact service, clinician, location, dates and inclusions in writing. Check deposits, payment deadlines and what happens if the treatment plan changes. Keep clinical suitability separate from how the care will be funded.

3

After the appointment or treatment

Confirm who explains results, manages follow-up and provides a contact if you have concerns. Include repeat visits, medicines, travel and support at home in your plan where relevant. Ask who is responsible for arranging any next step.

Choose how to pay with the full picture

NHS or public funding

Eligibility, clinical assessment and local arrangements determine the route. Dental charges and social-care funding follow their own rules. Confirm funding before agreeing to private treatment.

Explore funding and help with costs

Self-pay or insurance

For self-pay, request an itemised total, deposit and cancellation terms. For insurance, confirm authorisation, clinician and hospital recognition, excess and any benefit limits before booking. Recognition alone does not confirm your policy covers the treatment.

Provider guidance on checking payment arrangements

If finance is offered, compare the total repayable, interest, fees and repayment period against paying directly. A monthly figure is not the treatment’s total cost. Keep NHS and private follow-up arrangements clear with the clinicians involved.

Check the provider and the next step

A fee does not establish clinical suitability, appointment availability or treatment quality. Review the service’s published evidence and practical arrangements as well.

Waiting-list statistics describe published records for a service or organisation. They do not predict your appointment date or the wait for the particular operation in this guide.

Questions about dental fillings costs

Does the advertised fee cover the whole plan?

Check the exact package with the provider. Treatment scope and materials, Assessment and X-rays, Follow-up, maintenance and additional work can affect the comparison. The price examples above retain the source’s unit and price basis; an unlisted inclusion has not been assumed to be free.

Can I use the NHS instead?

This treatment can fall within NHS Band 2 when clinically appropriate and provided as NHS dental care. You pay for the course of treatment, with the highest applicable band, rather than adding a separate band charge for each item. A more extensive complete plan may fall into a higher band. Exemptions and help with charges depend on eligibility. Check the official route.

Is the lowest price the best option?

Price alone cannot answer that. Discuss appropriate options with a qualified professional, then compare the same scope of care, relevant provider evidence, access arrangements and the full aftercare plan.

What if there is no published fee near me?

Ask a provider for a written quote using this guide’s checklist. Other towns’ prices and group-wide offers are examples, not local quotations. A local page can contain one verified provider’s fee: its coverage is stated clearly. Where available, we link to separately labelled prices in nearby places.

Related costs to consider

Sources, coverage and how we check prices

Checked 10 September 2026. We select public factual fee examples from providers’ own pages. There is no paid placement and we do not calculate market averages from this selection. A provider-group fee is labelled as such; it is not copied into every local area.

Price amounts are withheld when their source has not been checked within 90 days. The original source date stays visible and is not refreshed just because the website is rebuilt. A checked fee can still change: request a current written quote.

  • The Clinic, College of Dentistry: published fee sourceChecked 10 September 2026. The fee list separately lists consultation at £120 and X-rays at £15 per film. Ask which charges apply to your visit; filling material is not specified on this list.
  • Harborne Dental Practice: published fee sourceChecked 10 September 2026 · Fee list dated December 2025. Non-member fee. The published list is dated December 2025 and remains displayed on the practice website; confirm a current quote.
  • Manchester Dental: published fee sourceChecked 10 September 2026. Published provider fees checked against the named page. Confirm eligibility, the full package and separately billed items before booking.
  • HQ Dental: published fee sourceChecked 10 September 2026. Published provider fees checked against the named page. Confirm eligibility, the full package and separately billed items before booking.
  • The Dental Team: published fee sourceChecked 10 September 2026. Published provider fees checked against the named page. Confirm eligibility, the full package and separately billed items before booking.

Named providers: The Clinic, College of Dentistry; Harborne Dental Practice; Manchester Dental; HQ Dental; The Dental Team.

Report an outdated fee · How to read our evidence